Pass-Along Plants

Many plants in my garden came from the gardens of friends.  I call these pass-along plants.
The Ginnala maple in my back yard is turning red and today the leaves are blowing off. This tree came from Virginia’s yard as a “stick” not quite 1 foot tall.  I managed to over-winter it for a few years on my back porch, moving it to a larger pot as needed.  Now it provides a hiding place and a launching pad for the little birds that eat at my bird feeder.  Ginnala Maple
Also in my back yard is the rhubarb plant that Patti brought back from her parents’ farm in Iowa.  It has done well here, in Denver.
The walk to my front door is lined with Maximilian sunflowers. These tall, happy perennials came from Jane’s yard. They tend to spread on their own, which makes them a good pass-along plant.
Perennials that spread and self seeding annuals are wonderful gifts if the giver warns the next gardener about the plant’s habits.

The story of the pass-along plant can live on after both gardener and garden are gone.  Take a minute to remember or to plan the pass-along plants in your garden.

Comments are closed.